Welcome to my little piece of the interwebs! I’ll tell you more about myself later, but for now, I’m working on a deadline!

I’ve been thinking about blogging mathematically for some time, but it was really Sam’s blog initiative that gave me the push I needed. I discovered the mathtwitterblogosphere  just about a month ago and I haven’t looked back since! I happened across Dan Meyer’s blog last year, but it wasn’t until this summer that I clicked a link on his site that magically took me to the math community I could never find at my school. [side note: I literally spent 10 hours that first day reading math blogs because I was so excited about everything I was reading. I even forgot to eat dinner! So excited!] I was very jealous of everyone who connected at tmc12 (I was just a little late for that), but I knew immediately that I wanted to be a part of this community. I didn’t think I had much to add; everyone seemed so much more knowledgeable than me, what could I possibly bring to the table? I’m still not sure what I can bring, but I’m sure I’ll find my way.

Of course I’ve been procrastinating about starting to blog all because I couldn’t figure out what the heck to call this thing. I looked at my facebook page to see if there was anything that stood out, and I happened upon a quote from my friend: “I want a Laplace transform for my life. It would smooth out the discontinuities, fill in the gaps and turn life calculus into life algebra. Life algebra, I can deal with.” I had always loved this idea of a Laplace transform. I have always appreciated ominous looking math problems that, after a long algebraic fight, turn into a nice pretty answer. This was the math that I fell in love with; this is why I became a mathematician. And the idea of having an operation for life, that could take a big scary problem and wrap it up all pretty and neat, was so beautiful and romantic to me that I always hoped it could be true. But maybe that can be a goal for this blog: to find some things that can simplify (and prettify) my teaching, that turn my teaching “calculus” into teaching “algebra.” Here’s hoping I find some!

[above: my favorite t-shirt, trying to analyze love using math. See store.xkcd.com to get one for yourself!]

 

 

